Council and Advisors

Council

The Council is responsible to the General Assembly for the management of the Federation. It receives its mandate from the General Assembly and reports to it on the state of the Federation not less frequently than at each Triennial Congress.

Subject only to the directions of the General Assembly, the Council will formulate the policies of the Federation, in relation to the world community of control engineers, the National Member Organizations, intergovernmental and other non-governmental international professional organizations. It shall develop the long-term plans of the Federation for approval by the General Assembly and shall instruct the various boards and committees of IFAC accordingly.

The Council shall direct and supervise the functioning of the Federation, including both the technical and the executive activities. It will delegate particular functions to the appropriate boards and committees and will from time to time receive activity reports from those boards and committees.

Council

Name Position Email Country
Hajime Asama President asama@robot.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp JP
Dong-il (Dan) Cho President-Elect dicho@snu.ac.kr KR
Frank Allgower Immediate Past President frank.allgower@ist.uni-stuttgart.de DE
Carlos Eduardo Pereira Vice-President (Technical Board) cpereira@ufrgs.br BR
Maria Prandini Vice-President (Conference Board) maria.prandini@polimi.it IT
Sarah K. Spurgeon Vice-President (Publications Board) s.spurgeon@ucl.ac.uk GB
Dimitri Peaucelle Vice-President (Operations) peaucelle@laas.fr FR
John Lygeros Vice-President (Finances) lygeros@control.ee.ethz.ch CH
Mary Doyle-Kent Ex officio MDKENT@wit.ie IE
Tariq Samad Ex officio samad@ieee.org US
Denis Dochain Ordinary Member denis.dochain@uclouvain.be BE
Emilia Fridman Ordinary Member emilia@tauex.tau.ac.il IL
Huijun Gao Ordinary Member huijungao@gmail.com CN
Ravi Gudi Ordinary Member ravigudi@che.iitb.ac.in IN
Karl Henrik Johansson Ordinary Member kallej@kth.se SE
Marga Marcos Ordinary Member marga.marcos@ehu.es ES
Jaime Alberto Moreno Perez Ordinary Member JMorenoP@iingen.unam.mx MX
Brett Ninness Ordinary Member brett.ninness@newcastle.edu.au AU
Kristin Y. Pettersen Ordinary Member kristin.y.pettersen@itk.ntnu.no NO
Jacquelien Scherpen Ordinary Member j.m.a.scherpen@rug.nl NL
Alexander M. Tarasyev Ordinary Member tam@imm.uran.ru RU
Dawn Tilbury Ordinary Member tilbury@umich.edu US

Advisors

Upon retirement from his/her IFAC office or any time thereafter, any Council Member may be appointed by the President as an Advisor of IFAC. Such an appointment may be for life.

IFAC Advisors may be consulted by the active Executive Officers on any matter related to the Federation or given special assignments as the President deems appropriate.

Advisors

Name Position Email Country
Pedro Albertos Advisor pedro@aii.upv.es ES
Brian D.O. Anderson Advisor brian.anderson@anu.edu.au AU
Tamer Basar Advisor basar1@Illinois.edu US
Sergio Bittanti Advisor bittanti@polimi.it IT
Ian K. Craig Advisor ian.craig@up.ac.za ZA
Francis J. Doyle III Advisor frank_doyle@seas.harvard.edu US
Peter Fleming Advisor p.fleming@sheffield.ac.uk GB
Janos Gertler Advisor jgertler@gmu.edu US
Roger Goodall Advisor r.m.goodall@lboro.ac.uk GB
Lino Guzzella Advisor lguzzella@ethz.ch CH
Abraham Haddad Advisor ahaddad38@icloud.com US
Gusztav Hencsey Advisor hencsey.gusztav@gmail.com HU
Rolf Isermann Advisor risermann@iat.tu-darmstadt.de DE
Alberto Isidori Advisor albisidori@diag.uniroma1.it IT
Stephen J. Kahne Advisor s.kahne@ieee.org US
Hidenori Kimura Advisor hkimura@brain.riken.jp JP
Vladimir Kucera Advisor Vladimir.Kucera@cvut.cz CZ
Wook Hyun Kwon Advisor whkwon@dgist.ac.kr KR
Lennart Ljung Advisor lennart.ljung@liu.se SE
Mohamed Mansour Advisor mansour@ethz.ch CH
Iven Mareels Advisor imareels@au1.ibm.com AU
Michael K. Masten Advisor m.masten@verizon.net US
Kurt Schlacher Advisor kurt.schlacher@jku.at AT
Tibor Vamos Advisor vamos@sztaki.hu HU
Paul M.J. Van den Hof Advisor P.M.J.vandenhof@tue.nl NL
Janan Zaytoon Advisor janan.zaytoon@univ-reims.fr FR

Other

Name Position Email Country
Dimitri Peaucelle Secretary peaucelle@laas.fr FR
Sitemap